PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF OCTOBER 24, 2019 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 202 C STREET, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson Susan Peerson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson Susan Peerson adjourned the meeting at 10:43 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Susan Peerson – present Vice-Chairperson William Hofman – present Commissioner James Whalen – absent Commissioner Douglas Austin – absent Commissioner Vicki Granowitz – present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – present Commissioner Matthew Boomhower - present

<u>Staff</u> Leslie FitzGerald, City Attorney – present Laura Black, Planning Department – present Tim Daly, Development Services Department – present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

ITEM # 1 HAMMER NDP – PROJECT NO. 607413 - WITHDRAWN

Speakers' Request for Continuance for ITEM 2 - 12TH CODE UPDATE-PHASE 2 by William Perno, Wally Wulfeck and Lisa Bridges.

CONSENT AGENDA

None.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

None.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Laura Black, Deputy Director of the Planning Department reported the Planning Department Transit Priority Area parking reduction for multi-family buildings was adopted by the Coastal Commission last week. These regulations are effective Citywide.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-1: NOTE: THIS ITEM HAS BEEN WITHDRAWN.

Continued from August 29, 2019; Continued from August 15, 2019; Appeal of Development Services Department's decision on June 7, 2019

HAMMER NDP – PROJECT NO. 607413

City Council District: 8 Plan Area: Southeastern San Diego

Staff: Bryan Hudson

No speaker slips in favor of the project were submitted.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by Alan Ziegaus.

COMMISSION ACTION:

THIS ITEM WAS WITHDRAWN.

ITEM-2: 12TH CODE UPDATE-PHASE 2

City Council District: All Plan Area: All

Staff: Renee Mezo

Speaker slips in favor of the item were submitted by Phil Rath, Khoa Nguyen, Gina Austin, Jimmy Morrison, Jessica McElfresh, Marcela Escobar-Eck, Matt Adams, Spencer Andrews and Brittany Biesterfeld.

Speaker slips in opposition to the item submitted by Natalie Wack, Enrique De La Cruz, Cynthia Sanchez, Allison Wall, Kathleen Lippitt, James Frost, Becky Rapp, Peggy Walker, Terri-Ann Skelly, John Misoni, Lorrie Frost, Marian Novak, William Perno, Marsha Lyon, Macy Baum, Lisa Bridges, Mary Badiner, Dawn Kamali, Fabian Alvarez, Ralph Staples, Danna Staples, Nancy Turk and John Wade.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER APPROVING THE STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO RECOMMEND CITY COUNCIL APPROVAL OF THE PROPOSED 12TH CODE UPDATE (PHASE TWO) WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTIONS:

- ITEM 12, MARIJUANA: CONTINUE TO A DATE CERTAIN OF DECEMBER 12, 2019, PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THREE SPECIFIC SECTIONS UNDER 113.0225, 141.0504, AND 141.1004 WHICH RELATE TO THE MEASURING OF THE DISTANCE BETWEEN MARIJUANA USES AND SENSITIVE RECEPTORS FOR FURTHER DISCUSSION/COMMUNITY INPUT.
- 2. REQUEST STAFF TO FURTHER LOOK INTO ITEM 7, DEVELOPMENT ON A PREMISES WITH A UTILIZED DEVELOPMENT PERMIT REGARDING THE ASSEMBLY PARKING REVISIONS PRIOR TO THE ITEM GOING TO CITY COUNCIL.

Seconded by Commissioner Hofman. The motion passed by a vote of 5-0-2 with Commissioners Peerson, Hofman, Granowitz, Boomhower and Otsuji voting yea and with Commissioners Austin and Whalen absent.