PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF NOVEMBER 7, 2019 IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 12TH FLOOR CITY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING 202 C STREET, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Vice-Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. Vice-Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 10:24 a.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson Susan Peerson – absent Vice-Chairperson William Hofman – present Commissioner James Whalen – absent Commissioner Douglas Austin – present Commissioner Vicki Granowitz – present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – absent Commissioner Matthew Boomhower - present

<u>Staff</u>

Corrine Neuffer, City Attorney – present Laura Black, Planning Department – present PJ FitzGerald, Development Services Department – present Tony Khalil, Development Services Department – present Carmina Trajano, Recorder – present

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

ITEM-1: **COURTHOUSE COMMONS TUNNEL** - **PROJECT NO. 634065** City Council District: 3 Plan Area: Downtown

Staff: Jeff A. Peterson

No speaker slips in favor of the project were submitted.

No speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted.

COMMISSION ACTION:

NO ACTION TAKEN DUE TO LACK OF A QUORUM.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Accepted as presented.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

None.

COMMISSION COMMENT

None.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM MAY 23, 2019, JUNE 20, 2019, JULY 11, 2019 AND JULY 25, 2019

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER AUSTIN APPROVING THE MINUTES FROM_MAY 23, 2019, JUNE 20, 2019, JULY 11, 2019 AND JULY 25, 2019 WITH AMENDMENT ON THE MINUTES FOR JULY 11, 2019, THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 12:50 P.M. INSTEAD OF 11:38 A.M. Seconded by Commissioner

Boomhower. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Granowitz and Boomhower voting yea and with Commissioners Peerson, Otsuji and Whalen absent.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-2: Appeal of Hearing Officer's decision on September 4, 2019 "THE MAP" CDP - PROJECT NO. 635682 City Council District: 1 Plan Area: La Jolla

Staff: Helene Deisher

Speaker slips in favor of the project submitted by Mary Munk, Luis A. Velazquez Sanchez, Nancy Ponsini, Leslie Ryan, Dawn Bailey, Hany Elwany, Don Goertz, Bill Robbins, Gail Forbes, Tak Yung Lee, Elizabeth Besom, Terry,Kraszewski, Nanette Oser, Cynthia Matzke, Bridey Suelly and Janie Emerson.

Speaker slips in opposition to the project submitted by John Leek, Edie Munk, Ken Hunrichs, David Johnson and Marie Hunrichs.

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER APPROVING STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION TO DENY THE PROJECT APPEAL AND UPHOLD THE HEARING OFFICER'S DECISION TO APPROVE COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT NO. 2326837. Seconded by Commissioner Austin. The motion passed by a vote of 4-0 with Commissioners Hofman, Austin, Granowitz and Boomhower voting yea and with Commissioners Peerson, Otsuji and Whalen absent.