PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO MINUTES OF REGULAR SCHEDULED MEETING OF DECEMBER 3, 2020 VIRTUAL MEETING

CHRONOLOGY OF THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson William Hofman adjourned the meeting at 12:13 p.m.

ATTENDANCE DURING THE MEETING:

Chairperson William Hofman – present Vice-Chairperson James Whalen – present Commissioner Douglas Austin – present Commissioner Vicki Granowitz – present Commissioner Dennis Otsuji – present Commissioner Matthew Boomhower – present Commissioner Kelly Moden – present

<u>City Staff</u> Heather Ferbert, City Attorney – present Tait Galloway, Planning Department – present Tim Daly, Development Services Department – present Tony Khalil, Development Services Department – present Sabrina Custer, Recorder- present/chambers

Note: All attendees are participating virtual.

ANNOUNCEMENTS/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

- June 4, 2020
- June 18, 2020
- July 16, 2020

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY VICE CHAIRMAN WHALEN TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF JUNE 4, JUNE 18, AND JULY 16, 2020 AS PRESENTED. Second by Commissioner Granowitz. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Moden, Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Boomhower, Otsuji and Whalen voting yea.

REQUESTS FOR ITEMS TO BE CONTINUED AND/OR WITHDRAWN

None.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Accepted

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Tim Daly announced Michelle Sokolowski was retiring for the City San Diego after 34 years. Tim also announced Raynard Abalos will be the new Deputy Director over the Planning Land Development Review Division.

Elyse Lowe updated the Commission and the public that Development Service Department will remain open during December 25, 2020 thru January 1, 2021. Even with being closed 8 to 9 times over the year, 101 Ash issues, protests, COVID, etc., we still were able to accept over 50,000 permit application this year. Elyse also wished Sabrina Custer and Commissioner Boomhower a Happy Birthday today.

Tait Galloway, Planning Department gave an update on the College area Community Plan Update and encouraged the Commission to participate in the survey they have put in place. This will help gather much needed information from the community.

COMMISSION COMMENT

Chairman Hofman announced that he "Sometime" today, I will be a first time Grandfather. I will keep everyone posted.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

ITEM-1: Continued from October 8, 2020 AN AMENDMENT TO THE CITY'S MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM TO IMPOSE A LICENSE REQUIREMENT AND OPERATING REGULATIONS FOR SHORT TERM RESIDENTIAL OCCUPANCY INCLUDING HOSTING PLATFORMS AND REPEAL REGULATIONS FOR BED AND BREAKFAST AND BOARDER LODGING

City Council District: All Plan Area: Citywide

Staff: Venus Molina

Speaker slips in favor of the project were submitted by: Violet Macias, Keegan Smith, Vikant Gulati, John Decker, Vipul Dayal, Ellen Yee, Paul Lotman, James Waterbury, Alejandro Franco, John Kuehn, Gary Hyvonen, Thomas Coat, Michael Anderson, Christine DiSimone, Michael O'Brien, Mancy Kramer, Blaine Smith, Vanessa Pisciotti, Christopher Hall, Kent Hall, Jean Johnson, Chad Goldberg, Amanda Pedigo, Kris Warren, Eva Brown, Sarah Simon, DD Yang, Pansy Yip, Amber Schiffert, Mable Huang, Brionne Briem, Evan Mendelsohn, Tania Corez, Boahan, Wu, Kristen Huntley, Tom Coat, Benjamin Slotnick, Tina Etue, Patricia Levy, Rich Levy,

Speaker slips in opposition to the project were submitted by: Mercella Teran, James Baird, Adam Huntington, Lee Miller, Patty Davidson, Kathy Los, Martha Welch, Cory Serna, Joshua Dahl, Christa Kay, Toral Patel, Arlyn Redmond, Gabriela, Jennifer Johnson, John Anderson, Cameron Havlik, Larissa Brecht, Denise Friedman, Tatyana Sharpee, Gale Kavanaugh, Mandy Havlik, Georgeann Morris, Ricardo da Rosa, Maureen Dunfee, Ron Oliver, Marc Abouaf, Don Thompson, Peter Morris, Robert White, Mike Staplesd, Don Wagner, Kevin Hastings, Pat Sexton, Michael Sharma, Ricardo Lavin, Joel Price, D. L., Louis Rodolico, Denise Friedman, Carla Gerstein, Ken Hall, James St. Leger, Marianne Wilkey, Chad Goldberg, John, Stull, Gary Wonacott, William Vail, George Lefevre, Heather Harris, Jorge Moraleda, Shari Cohen, Margaret McKeon, Jennifer Dunaway, Dan Gallagher, Helen Dail, Nicki Zimmerman, Andrea May, Greg Doud, Mark & Shannon Wedeking, Ms. Nelson, Carolyn Marsden, Terrell Catania, Claire Maund, Corecraft Pilates, David Rearwin, Barb Franklin, Laura Spycia, Dean Libs, Pamela Sloan, Richard Morrissey, Peggy Davis, Judy Nugent, Kathy Evans, Gary Wonacott, Dan Gallagher, Lawerence Douglas, Stacie Wissler, Donna Shske, Rachelle Hayward, Diane Fons, Vincent Travaglione, Susan McGonigle, Ped Ro Tavares, Gabe Baldauf, Kathi Smith, Anthony Ciulla, Edward Miller, Judy Moore, Glenn Yarwood, Bill Orabone, Luis Rodolico, Jenne Hill, Robert Keck, Jenny Ridenour, Pansy Yip, Carol Richter, Nicole Rawson, John Thickstun, John Leuck, Kay Spafford, Stephen Richter, John Anderson, Jean Froning, Elliot Jones, John Stull, Cathy Chicheste, K Campbell, Brook Empey, Virginia Wilson, Nanci, Kelly, Julie Billon, Tina Etue, Steven Dowdy, John Choi, Fletcher Miller Candance Szalay, Rachel Green Nate Miller, Gloria, Henson,, Lawrence Davidson, Mary Willmont, Steve Stangland, Scott Rosecrans, Pegy Steevens, Patricia McClure, Joel Price, Wallace Wulfeck, Guillermo Gonzalez, Craig Klein, Linda Lloyd, Robert Supple, Greg Ruckman, Carolyn Lyons, Cindy Kinkade, Linda McAndrew, Kathy Hailey, Gordon Dunfee, JD Stull, James Fox, Teresa Ogot, Sunny Day, Roy McMakin, Dave and Kim Latham, Matt Edwards, Patty Ducey-Brooks, Melanie Menders, Andrea Schlageter, Ann Thompson, Julie Pautz, Jim Hench, Don Wagner, Shelly Schreiber, Joshua Kuss, Anne Beste, Larry Gustafson, Jerry Kubik, Karyn Loimer,

COMMISSION ACTION:

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER BOOMHOWER TO ADOPT THE AMENDMENT TO THE CITY'S MUNICIPAL CODE AND LOCAL COASTAL PROGRAM TO IMPOSE A LICENSE REQUIREMENT AND OPERATING REGULATIONS FOR SHORT TERM RESIDENTIAL OCCUPANCY INCLUDING HOSTING PLATFORMS AND REPEAL REGULATIONS FOR BED AND BREAKFAST AND BOARDER LODGING– WITH THE FOLLOWING CHANGES:

- 1) RAISE THE CAP RATE FOR TIER 3 TO 1%
- 2) DIVIDE THE CAP RATE FOR TIER 3 EQUALLY TO EACH OF THE COUNCIL DISTRICTS OR SOME OTHER DEFINED BOUNDARY, WHILE MAINTAINING THE CARVE OUT FOR MISSION BEACH AS PROPOSED (TIER 4)

- 3) INCLUDE A REQUIREMENT THAT LICENSE HOLDER MUST PROVIDE THEIR PERMANENT ADDRESS AND THAT BE USED TO VERIFY THAT STVR PROPERTY ADDRESS FOR TIER 1 & 2 LICENSES
- 4) INCLUDE NOISE RESTRICTIONS AND LIMITATIONS SIMILAR TO THOSE IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD COMMERCIAL ZONE TO ENABLE STRICTER ENFORCEMENT OF NOISE

COMMISSIONER OTSUJI REQUESTED A CHANGE TO THE PROPOSED REGULATIONS; AN ANNUAL REVIEW BE PRESENTED TO THE PLANNING COMMISSION. Second by Vice Chairman Whalen. The motion passed by a vote of 7-0-0 with Commissioners Moden, Hofman, Austin, Granowitz, Boomhower, Otsuji and Whalen voting yea.