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California and federal law 

prohibit manufacturing or 

selling counterfeit products and 

passing off counterfeit items as 

real.   

 

This newsletter discusses the 

laws in California that prohibit 

counterfeiting and provides tips 

to avoid being fooled by those 

selling or passing a counterfeit 

product.  The City Attorney’s 

Consumer Protection Unit 

prosecutes violations of these 

laws. 

 

COUNTERFEIT DESIGNER 

PRODUCTS: 

 
The term “counterfeit” has 

different meanings depending 

on the law involved.  In all 

cases, it is synonymous with 

“fake.”   

 

A “counterfeit mark” is a mark 

that is identical with or 

confusing similar to a mark that 

has been registered with the 

Secretary of State or the U.S. 

Patent and Trademark Office. 

Anyone who willfully 

manufactures, intentionally 

sells, or knowingly possesses 

for sale a product with a 

counterfeit mark commits a 

crime.  If there are less than 

1,000 articles or the total retail 

market value of the real product 

is less than $400, the crime is a 

misdemeanor punishable by a 

fine of $5,000 and 1 year in jail.  

Otherwise, it is a felony, 

punishable by 3 years in prison 

and a fine of $250,000. 

 

Police often find individuals 

selling counterfeit designer 

products at swap meets.  On 

occasion, high end clothing 

stores will also misrepresent 

counterfeit designer products as 

the real thing and charge the 

going rate for the real product. 

 

Consumers can do the following 

to avoid purchasing counterfeit 

designer products: 

 Ask the seller whether 

the item is real.  

 Visit the website of the 

holder of the 

trademark to learn how 

the item is packaged 

and marked. 

 Purchase from 

businesses that have a 

fixed location or from 

a store that is affiliated 

with that brand name. 

 Check out the rating 

the business has from 

the local Better 

Business Bureau. 

 Be wary of prices that 

are significantly lower 

than the prevailing 

retail price for the 

product. 

 

COUNTERFEIT MOVIES AND 

COMPACT DISCS: 
 

Recordings and audiovisual 

works are also protected by 

California law.  The selling and 

giving away of recordings are 

also referred to in the popular 

press as “pirating.”  The record 

labels and distributors of music 

in the U.S. have formed a group 

called the Recording Industry 

Association of America which 
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brings civil actions on behalf of 

its members alleging piracy of 

their products.  Separately, 

prosecutors in the state bring 

criminal actions when the piracy 

violates state law. 

 

Anyone manufacturing, 

advertising for sale, renting, or 

selling any recording or 

audiovisual work which does 

not disclose the true name and 

address of the manufacturer of 

the work on its label commits a 

crime.  The violation is a 

misdemeanor if it involves less 

than 100 articles, and is 

punishable by a fine of $25,000 

and one year in jail.  Violations 

involving more than 100 articles 

are felonies punishable by a fine 

of $250,000 and 3 years in 

prison. 

 

Consumers can do the following 

to avoid purchasing counterfeit 

movies and compact discs: 

 Inspect the package 

label to determine if it 

looks like it was 

produced by the 

original artist or 

distributor.   

 Avoid purchasing 

movies that have not 

yet been released in 

DVD or Blu-Ray 

format. 

 Check with the RIAA 

website to determine 

whether the music you 

wish to download is 

from a site that has 

permission from the 

recording studio that 

owns the rights to the 

music. 

 Make purchases from 

established business 

locations. 

 

COUNTERFEIT MONEY, ID 

CARDS, TICKETS, CHECKS, AND 

MONEY ORDERS: 

 

It is a crime under both Federal 

law and California law to make, 

possess or pass with intent to 

defraud another person, any 

counterfeit bills, like dollar 

bills, or coins. 

 

It is also unlawful to make or 

possess a counterfeit driver’s 

license or identification card 

with intent that the card will be 

used as though it was the real 

thing.  In addition, anyone 

manufacturing, selling, or 

furnishing a deceptive 

identification document violates 

the law unless the words “NOT 

A GOVERNMENT 

DOCUMENT” are 

conspicuously printed on the 

document along with the name 

of the manufacturer. 

 

Anyone who counterfeits tickets 

for railroad or steamship travel 

or who knowingly passes or 

sells them as real with the intent 

to defraud the railroad or 

steamship company, commits a 

crime.   

 

It is also a crime to make, 

possess or pass with intent to 

defraud another person, any 

counterfeit checks or money 

orders as though they were real.   

 

These crimes are all considered 

forgery and are punishable as 

misdemeanors or felonies. 

 

You can avoid being misled by 

someone trying to pass a 

counterfeit item as real by doing 

the following: 

 Familiarize yourself 

with the security 

features that have been 

added to dollar bills at 

the U.S. Secret Service 

website: 

www.secretservice.gov  

 If someone wants to pay 

you by check or 

cashier’s check, meet 

the person at his/her 

bank and cash the check 

there. 

 If someone presents to 

you an identification 

document, verify its 

authenticity by 

checking the website of 

the issuer for tips on 

security features on its 

cards. 

 Buy tickets from the 

official seller for 

transportation rather 

than from people 

advertising tickets in the 

newspaper or online. 

 

ENFORCEMENT:  
 

The U.S. Secret Service 

investigates reports of 

counterfeiting of U.S. currency.  

Other counterfeiting violations 

are investigated by the local 

police.  If you observe a 

violation of these laws, call your 

local police. 

 

Police agencies refer these 

matters to the City Attorney’s or 

District Attorney’s Offices for 

prosecution when they have 

sufficient evidence of a crime. 

 

 
 

San Diego  

City Attorney’s Office 

Consumer and Environmental 

Protection Unit 

(619) 533-5600 

 

http://www.secretservice.gov/
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This newsletter was written by 

Assistant City Attorney Tricia 

Pummill.    

Sources:  California Penal Code 

sections 350,653w, and 470-483.5.. 

The information provided in this 

newsletter is intended to convey 

general information and is not 

intended to be relied upon as legal 

advice.  

 

To report violations of consumer 

protection laws, call the City 

Attorney’s Hotline at (619) 533-

5600. 

 


