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Young adults and teenagers 

often hire buses for special 

events.  These vehicles, known 

as “party buses,” have increased 

in popularity across the country. 

 

There are very few laws that 

regulate party bus operators.  

This newsletter explains these 

laws and the activities that are 

and are not regulated. 

WHAT IS A PARTY BUS? 
 

A party bus is a school or charter 

bus with a renovated interior.  The 

buses typically have seating for 

large groups and come equipped 

with features like stripper poles, 

dance floors, upgraded sound 

systems, fog machines, lasers and 

strobe lights.   

 

These vehicles are used for purely 

recreational purposes, and are 

usually hired to chauffer prom-

goers, wedding parties, or groups 

of friends to and from events, or 

simply take passengers on “booze-

cruise” excursions in which the 

driver spends the evening shuttling 

passengers to several bars and 

clubs. 

SAFETY CONCERNS: 
 

The biggest concerns regarding 

party buses stem from passengers 

drinking alcohol while on board the 

vehicles. Bus drivers are under no 

legal obligation to check the age of 

passengers.  Passengers usually 

supply their own alcohol on the 

buses and there is no law that 

precludes drinking alcohol on a 

bus. 

 

There have been incidents where 

passengers on party buses have 

become unruly and have hurt one 

another.  In Los Angeles, 

passengers on a party bus shot one 

another.  The LAPD notes the rise 

of assaults, public drunkenness and 

conflicts between unruly party bus 

passengers. 

 

Passengers who drink on a party 

bus may drive their own vehicles 

home after the bus ride, impaired 

and posing a danger to others on 

the road.  In February 2010, a 19 

year-old teenager from Northern 

California died when he crashed his 

car after celebrating his friend’s 

twenty-first birthday on a party bus. 

His blood alcohol level was more 

than three times the legal limit.  

 

Party buses are often booked to 

transport young people to high 

school dances or other large social 

events like festivals and concerts. 

These buses often do not have 

parent chaperones.  Last month, 

charges were filed against a 17 

year-old high school student in 

Massachusetts after a 16 year-old 

classmate accused him of sexually 

assaulting her on the bus and raping 

her in the parking lot.  The victim 

believes she was drugged from an 

alcoholic drink handed to her on 

the party bus, which was en route 

to a concert.  The concert-goers on 

the party bus were all high school 

students.  

  

Party bus operators must have a 

charter bus license issued by the 

California Public Utilities 

Commission (CPUC).  The desired 

distance of transportation from the 

company’s home terminal 

determines the type of license 

requested, and the filing fees range 

from $500 to $1,500.  In addition to 

the license application, the 

operators must provide evidence of 

liability insurance and workers’ 
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compensation insurance, participate 

in the Dept. of Motor Vehicles 

Employer-Pull-Notice System and 

the CPUC’s drug and alcohol 

testing program, and undergo a 

California Highway Patrol safety 

inspection. 

 

Once hired, the driver of a party 

bus must have a waybill that 

includes the following information: 

  

 Name of carrier and TCP 

number 

 Vehicle license plate 

number 

 Driver’s name 

 Name and address of 

person arranging the 

charter 

 Time and date when 

charter was arranged 

  Whether the 

transportation was 

arranged by telephone or 

written contract 

 Number of persons in the 

charter group 

 Name of at least one 

passenger in the traveling 

party, or identifying 

information of the 

traveling party’s affiliation 

 Points of origin and 

destination. 

 

Violations of these laws occurring 

within the City of San Diego are 

prosecuted by the City Attorney’s 

Consumer & Environmental 

Protection Unit. 

 

Currently, a party bus owner or 

driver has no duty to prevent 

underage drinking on board the 

vehicle.  California law holds 

limousine companies responsible 

for underage drinking on board 

their vehicles, but party buses are 

not classified as limousines.  

 

Proposed legislation (California 

Assembly Bill 45) would expand 

the existing Public Utility Code 

section regulating limousine 

companies to include party bus 

companies.  If passed, the law 

would require party bus drivers to 

check identification of all 

passengers, read a statement to 

inform passengers that underage 

drinking is unlawful, and obtain 

signatures from all underage 

passengers. Also, upon discovery 

of alcoholic consumption by an 

underage passenger, the driver 

would be obligated to drop off the 

offending passengers at the 

customer’s home, nearest police 

station, or any other point mutually 

agreed to by both parties, or risk 

facing fines of $2,000, license 

suspension, revocation, and 

misdemeanor charges. 

 Discuss the importance of 

drinking responsibly with 

your children. 

 If your underage son or 

daughter requests a party 

bus or has plans to go on a 

party bus excursion, make 

it clear that alcohol is not 

allowed. 

 Arrange rides to and from 

the point of origin to 

prevent your son or 

daughter from driving 

under the influence of 

alcohol. 

 Familiarize yourself with 

your son’s or daughter’s 

friends who will ride on 

the party bus. 

 Talk to the party bus 

company and driver to 

ensure that they will not 

tolerate underage 

drinking. 

 Check the vehicle for the 

charter-party carrier 

number displayed to 

ensure that they are 

licensed by the CPUC.  

 The CPUC website 

(http://www.cpuc.ca.gov) 

provides a list of licensed 

limo and party bus 

companies.  

 If you are planning to hire 

a party bus, call the 

California Public Utilities 

Commission at 1-800-894-

9444 to check if the 

business is licensed and 

insured, and whether 

consumers have filed any 

complaints against the 

company. 

 

Complaints against party bus 

companies may be filed by 

contacting the CPUC.  Email 

CIU_intake@cpuc.ca.gov, call 1-

800-894-9444, or writing the, 

CPUC Consumer Protection and 

Safety Division, 505 Van Ness 

Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94102.  

Complaint forms can be found on 

the CPUC website: 

http://www.cpuc.ca.gov/static/form

s/complaints/psg+complaint+form.

pdf  
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Sources: Los Angeles Times, The 

Sun Chronicle, California 

Assembly Bill 45 and Public 

Utilities Code Section 5384.1 

 

The information provided in this 

newsletter is intended to convey 

general information and is not 

intended to be relied upon as legal 

advice.  

 

To report violations of consumer 

protection laws, call the City 

Attorney’s Hotline at (619) 533-

5600. 
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