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MOBILE MECHANICS ON 

THE RISE 

 

In 2013, the average cost of auto 

repairs was $416.44 in California, 

rising 7.19 percent from the 

previous year according to CarMD. 

While auto repair costs seem to be 

rising, the number of mobile 

mechanics seems to be increasing 

too. Mobile mechanics are 

convenient, less costly, and can 

meet your demand upon need. 

More mechanics are taking their 

business mobile in order to gain 

extra work and employ their skills 

as needed.     

 

However, with convenience may 

come a cost. The convenience of 

such services exposes consumers to 

additional public safety hazards and 

vulnerability to fraud. While 

fraudulent service providers cannot 

be fully prevented in any capacity, 

staying informed is a partial shield 

to staying protected.     

 

WHO ARE MOBILE AUTO 

REPAIR DEALERS? 

 

An auto repair dealer, also known 

as mechanic, is any person who 

repairs or diagnoses a car’s 

mechanical problems in exchange 

for money. A mobile mechanic is 

an auto repair dealer who provides 

the services of a mechanic with the 

convenience of a delivery service. 

A mobile mechanic is available to 

come to your home, office, or 

wherever your vehicle needs repair.  

 

 

 

Often mobile mechanics do not 

incur the overhead costs of a repair 

shop and therefore can offer 

services at more affordable rates. 

Mobile mechanics carry their tools, 

expertise, and some replacement 

parts with them.  

 

Many mobile mechanics advertise 

their services on Craigslist and 

other online portals that do not 

require advertising fees. Mechanics 

often refer to themselves as “master 

mechanic,” “professional,” or 

“reliable.” These terms do not 

guarantee that the mechanic is a 

licensed professional, as required 

under California laws.  

 

LAWS THAT PROTECT 

CONSUMERS 

 

Incompetency and fraud are 

common problems for consumers 

using mobile mechanics. Several 

cases were recently filed by the San 

Diego City Attorney’s Office in 

which undercover stings exposed 

unregistered mechanics advertising 

and providing mobile auto repair 

services. Further, individuals have 

been convicted by the City 

Attorney’s Office for providing 

unnecessary auto repairs. 

Consumers are vulnerable to 

unnecessary auto repairs at the 

direction of the mechanic, whether  

in a shop or by a mobile mechanic. 

Earlier this year, the Bureau of 

Automotive Repair (BAR) 

conducted major stings in both 

Fresno and Bakersfield, arresting a 

total of 31 individuals for 

unlicensed auto work.  

 

Similarly, many of the mechanics 

were posting ads for cheap repairs 

on Facebook and Craigslist and 

working on cars without a license, 

both of which are misdemeanor 

crimes subjecting suspects to six 

months in jail and a $1,000 fine, if 

convicted.  

 

The California Business and 

Professions Code governs the 

regulation of auto mechanics. 

Under Chapter 20.3, the following 

laws are in place to protect the 

public:    

 

1.  Every automotive repair dealer 

must be registered with BAR. To 

check whether a mobile mechanic 

is registered, go to the BAR 

License Search. 

 

2.  Upon request, consumers can 

demand their replaced auto parts to 

be returned to them after the work 

is finished. (B&P 9884.10). 

 

3.  A written estimate must be 

provided to a consumer before 

engaging in auto repair. The 

estimate must include all costs for 

parts and labor. No additional 

work, above the estimate, may be 

done without oral or written 

consent. (B&P 9884.9). 

 

4.  A written invoice detailing the 

work that was provided and the 

parts that were used must be given 

to consumers. (B&P 9884.8) 
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http://corp.carmd.com/2014-state-index.htm?subId=241
http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/wllqryna$lcev2.startup?p_qte_code=ARD&p_qte_pgm_code=1310
http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/wllqryna$lcev2.startup?p_qte_code=ARD&p_qte_pgm_code=1310


 

SERVING CONSUMERS AND PROTECTING COMMERCE 

BENEFITS OF USING A 

REGISTERED MECHANIC 

 

Although there are time & cost 

benefits to using a mobile 

mechanic, there are additional 

benefits for verifying that a 

mechanic is registered. A 

mechanic’s work affects the safety 

of your vehicle and your 

passengers. With safety in mind, 

any effort taken to ensure the 

credibility of your mechanic can be 

beneficial.  

 

Registered mechanics can be 

disciplined administratively by 

BAR. The application process 

requires BAR to collect the 

mechanic’s personal information. 

This allows BAR to evaluate the 

candidate and retain their 

information for future disciplinary 

action. Each year, BAR negotiates 

$4 million in rework, refunds, and 

adjustments on behalf of 

consumers.   

 

TIPS FOR BEING A CAUTIOUS 

CONSUMER 

 

To avoid being scammed by an 

incompetent or fraudulent 

mechanic, take the following steps 

to protect yourself: 

 

 Check for Licensing.  

The BAR uses the term “licensing” 

and “registration” interchangeably. 

You may search for a registration at 

the BAR's website. 

 

 Do not pay in advance.  

Do not pay for services in advance 

of getting repairs completed.  

 

 Do your homework. 
Evaluate the mechanic’s 

background, experience, and 

training. Consider doing your own 

internet search, asking for 

reputability in the community, and 

verifying their resume. Ask for 

information like the mechanics full 

name, address, phone number, and 

license number in case you need to 

file a complaint.  

 

 Inspect their equipment. 

See if their equipment looks 

professional, clean, and organized. 

A seasoned mechanic will carry 

more than just a screwdriver and a 

wrench.   

 

 Warranties. Be certain the 

mechanic honors any existing 

warranty on your vehicle.  

 

 Evaluate your estimate. 

Compare estimates between 

multiple mechanics. Also, make 

sure you understand the repairs that 

the mechanic will be doing before 

authorizing repairs.  

 

 Ask about guarantees. 

Guarantees are not mandated, but if 

your mechanic is willing to provide 

one, ask about the terms and 

conditions of the guaranteed work. 

If possible, get the agreement in 

writing.  

 

THE CITY ATTORNEY’S ROLE 

 

Agencies, such as BAR, refer their 

criminal investigations to the San 

Diego City Attorney’s Office and 

other agencies for prosecution. 

Criminal prosecution of 

unregistered individuals helps BAR 

protect consumers from subpar 

repair work. Joint enforcement also 

ensures registration and compliance 

with California law. 

 

Before referring matters to the San 

Diego City Attorney’s Office, BAR 

investigators interview consumers, 

inspect repair work, and interview 

mechanics. Also, BAR often 

conducts “sting” operations, 

exposing unlicensed activity in the 

community.  

 

If you have a complaint against a 

mobile mechanic, be sure to contact 

your local regulating agency. The 

Bureau of Automotive Repair in 

San Diego can be reached by 

telephone at (858)716-1025. For 

more consumer information from 

the BAR, click here.To submit a 

complaint with BAR, access the 

BAR website complaint form here. 

 

To report a violation to the San 

Diego City Attorney’s Office, 

complete the City Attorney 

complaint form and submit it to 

the San Diego City Attorney’s 

Office by mailing to: 1200 Third 

Avenue, Suite 700, San Diego, CA 

92101.  

 

Sources: Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code, 

Division 3: Chapter 20.3; 

www.bar.ca.gov. 
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Newsletter written by Shannon 

Wicks.   

   

 

The information provided in this 

newsletter is intended to convey 

general information and is not 

intended to be relied upon as legal 

advice.  

 

 

The San Diego City Attorney’s 

Consumer & Environmental 

Protection Unit prosecutes criminal 

and civil violations of California’s 

unfair competition and other 

consumer laws committed in the 

City of San Diego. The Unit 

maintains a Phone Hotline for 

consumers to report possible 

violations. You can reach the 

Hotline at (619) 533-5600.  

 

   

http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/wllqryna$lcev2.startup?p_qte_code=ARD&p_qte_pgm_code=1310
http://www.bar.ca.gov/Consumer/Auto_Repair_Guide.html
https://www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/bar/complaints.php
http://www.sandiego.gov/cityattorney/pdf/cepucomplaintform.pdf
http://www.sandiego.gov/cityattorney/pdf/cepucomplaintform.pdf

