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The current downturn in the real 

estate market has led to an 

increase in the number of 

businesses and individuals 

offering to perform loan 

modification services for 

consumers.  These individuals 

offer homeowners the service of 

negotiating with their lenders 

for more favorable terms or 

obtaining a better loan from 

another lender. 

 

There are a number of laws that 

regulate the loan modification 

business.  Before hiring 

someone to modify a home 

loan, a consumer should make 

sure the business or person has 

complied with the law.  The 

City Attorney’s Consumer & 

Environmental Protection Unit 

prosecutes those businesses and 

individuals who do not comply 

with the laws. 

Anyone who charges another 

person for the service of 

negotiating loans secured by real 

estate (mortgage loans), must 

obtain a real estate broker’s license 

in California prior to doing 

business (Business & Professions 

Code §10131(d). Anyone who 

offers to perform loan modification 

services when he/she is not a 

licensed real estate broker is guilty 

of a misdemeanor  and faces up to 

6 months in custody and a fine of 

$10,000 per violation (B & P 

§§10130 & 10139).  

 

Licensed attorneys do not have to 

obtain a real estate broker’s license 

if they are rendering legal services 

to a client that includes real estate 

work (B & P 10133(a)(3)).  An 

attorney is required by state law not 

to allow others to use the attorney’s 

license to practice law, so if an 

attorney offers loan modification 

services, the client should be 

meeting with the attorney, not with 

a company that is affiliated with the 

attorney. 

 

FALSE ADVERTISING 

PROHIBITED: 

 
California law prohibits false 

advertising by any business (B & P 

17500).  A real estate broker or 

salesman who advertises in a 

newspaper or by mail must disclose 

that he is performing acts which 

require a real estate license (B & P 

§§ 10140.5 & 10140.6).  

 

ADVANCE FEE CONTRACTS 

MUST BE APPROVED BY THE 

DEPT. OF REAL ESTATE: 

 
Licensed real estate brokers who 

offer loan modification services 

which require up-front fees must 

register with the California 

Department of Real Estate.  The 

brokers must submit for review a 

copy of the contract they require 

home owners to sign.  The contract 

must outline the services that will 

be performed, as well as inform the 

consumer when the services will be 

performed, and how much the 

services will cost.  A complete list 

of real estate brokers who are 

registered with the Department of 

Real Estate to perform loan 

modification services is available 

online at www.dre.ca.gov.  

 

ADVANCE FEES MUST BE 

DEPOSITED IN A TRUST 

ACCOUNT: 

 
A real estate broker, who collects a 

fee in advance of delivering the 

http://www.dre.ca.gov/
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services for which he/she was 

hired, must deposit the money in a 

trust fund until he/she earns them 

by performing the services.  (B & P 

§ 10146).   Attorneys also are 

required to deposit funds in trust 

accounts until they earn their fees 

(B & P § 6211(a)).   

 

If a broker or attorney fails to 

deposit advance fees into a trust 

account or uses that money for 

his/her own purposes prior to 

earning the fees, the person is 

guilty of embezzlement, a felony, 

punishable by up to 3 years in 

prison and a fine of $10,000. 

 

If a person or business fails to 

provide the loan modification 

services, he/she must refund the 

money received to the consumer.  

Failure to do so is theft. 

 

COMPLAINTS: 

 
If a consumer encounters a person 

or business offering loan 

modification services who appears 

not to be in compliance with the 

laws of this state, the consumer 

should report the matter to the 

California Dept. of Real Estate 

(DRE).  In San Diego, the 

telephone number is (619) 525-

4192.  Investigators for the DRE 

will determine whether a violation 

of law has been committed and 

refer the matter for prosecution.   

 

The City Attorney’s Consumer & 

Environmental Protection Unit is 

working with the DRE to prosecute 

those who take advantage of 

distressed homeowners by skirting 

the laws governing the loan 

modification business. 

 

TIPS: 
 

Homeowners who find themselves 

straddled with a mortgage loan they 

cannot pay can seek modification 

of the loan terms directly with the 

lender.  It is not necessary to hire 

another person to advocate with the 

lender on your behalf.   

 

If you decide to hire a professional 

to do your loan modification, the 

following tips may be helpful: 

 

 Make sure the person/business 

is licensed as a real estate 

broker 

 

 Avoid paying a fee prior to 

performing services.  If you 

pay an advance fee, make sure 

the money will be deposited in 

a trust account until services 

have been rendered. 

 

 DO NOT DO BUSINESS 

WITH ANYONE WHO 

recommends you not pay your 

mortgage payments.  This 

practice will only damage your 

credit and hasten foreclosure. 

 

 Be sure you know what the 

person is offering to do for 

you.  If you only intend to pay 

the person once the loan has 

been modified, make sure that 

both of you agree about this. 

 

 BEWARE OF INDIVIDUALS 

who direct you to send them 

your monthly mortgage money 

so they can pay your 

mortgage!  These companies 

are required to be registered 

with the Cal. Dept. of 

Corporations as proraters.  It is 

better to pay your creditors 

directly.  

 

 Be sure you have a copy of a 

written contract with the loan 

modification business setting 

forth the terms of your 

agreement and setting forth a 

manner for you to obtain a full 

refund if services are not 

rendered. 

 

 If you hire an attorney, make 

sure the attorney is licensed to 

practice in California and that 

the person you are meeting 

with is the attorney.  The 

California State Bar 

Association maintains a 

searchable database of 

attorneys at 

www.calbar.ca.gov.  

 

 Before you hire a loan 

modification business, check 

out the Better Business 

Bureau’s website at 

www.sandiego.bbb.org.  The 

BBB maintains a public 

website where you can see if 

others have complained about 

the business.   

 

 Ask the person for references 

and check them out.  Ask the 

person for proof of a license. 

 

 Report suspicious activities to 

the Dept. of Real Estate at 

(619) 525-4192. 
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The information provided in this 

newsletter is intended to convey 

general information and is not 

intended to be relied upon as legal 

advice.  

 

To report violations of consumer 

protection laws, call the City 

Attorney’s Hotline at (619) 533-

5600. 

http://www.calbar.ca.gov/
http://www.sandiego.bbb.org/

