
 

 

 

Senate Bill 1186  

$1.00 State Mandated Fee 

 

 

On September 19, 2012 Governor Brown signed into law Senate Bill 1186 (SB 1186) 

which requires cities and counties to collect a State mandated fee of $1.00 from “any 

applicant for a local business license or equivalent instrument or permit, and from any 

applicant for the renewal of a business license or equivalent instrument and permit” 

beginning January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2018.  The purpose of SB 1186 is to 

increase disability access, encourage compliance with construction-related accessibility 

requirements, and develop education resources for businesses to facilitate compliance with 

federal and state disability laws.  This legislation will affect business owners who pay the 

City’s Business Tax and Rental Unit Business Tax assessment. 

 

Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and 

significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants, with 

buildings open to the public.  You may obtain information about your legal obligations and 

how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies: 

 

 The Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx 

 The Department of Rehabilitation at www.rehab.cahwnet.gov 

 The California Commission on Disability Access at www.ccda.ca.gov 

The following City website provides additional information to help small businesses better 

understand and comply with accessibility requirements of California Code of Regulations 

Title-24  

 

www.sandiego.gov/development-services/industry/information/accessibility/#guidelines 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/sen/sb_1151-1200/sb_1186_bill_20120919_chaptered.pdf
http://www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx
http://www.rehab.cahwnet.gov/
http://www.ccda.ca.gov/
http://www.sandiego.gov/development-services/industry/information/accessibility/#guidelines

