

THE CITY OF SAN DIEGO

TODD GLORIA

MAYOR

M E M O R A N D U M

DATE: July 21, 2021

Honorable Council President Jennifer Campbell TO: Honorable Councilmembers

FROM:

Mayor Todd Gloria Good Sporie

Appointments & Reappointments to the Balboa Park Committee SUBJECT:

It is my pleasure to appoint Makeda Cheatom, Allison Soares, Chris Eddy, Brer Marsh, and Howard Blackson to the Balboa Park Committee (BPC) each to a two-year term ending March 1, 2023. I am also reappointing Sarah Dawe, Victoria Curran, and Katherine Johnston to the BPC each to a two-year term ending March 1, 2023. I am also appointing Molly Chase as Chair and Katherine Johnston as Vice-Chair of the Balboa Park Committee effective August 1, 2021 pursuant to the San Diego Municipal Code section §26.30 (b).

Ms. Cheatom built positive cultural awareness in the San Diego community as the creator of the World Beat Cultural Center in Balboa Park. Makeda dedicated herself to promoting, presenting, and preserving African and indigenous cultures through music, art, dance, education, and technology. Ms. Cheatom will represent small or mid-size institutions on the Balboa Park Committee.

Ms. Soares is an award-winning lawyer and has an extensive background in finance, including serving as an adjunct professor at San Diego State University and as a board member and Treasurer for the non-profit organization Friends of Balboa Park. She has a Master of Business Administration from St. Thomas University, a Juris Doctorate from St. Thomas School of Law, and a Master's Degree in Taxation from the University of San Diego School of Law. Ms. Soares is a nominee of Council President Pro Tempore Stephen Whitburn representing Council District 3.

Mr. Eddy has extensive experience in community service and volunteerism in San Diego. He recently served on the Board of Directors of San Diego Zoo Global, served as President of the Pinnacle Marina Tower Homeowners Association, a board member for Gaslamp Quarter Historical Foundation and is currently a member of the Downtown Community Planning Council. He also previously served on Downtown's Business Improvement District/Clean and Safe Committee. Mr. Eddy is a nominee of the Downtown Community Planning Council.

Page 2 Honorable Jennifer Campbell, Council President Honorable Councilmembers July 21, 2021

Mr. Marsh is a local Architect licensed in the State of California. Currently working on local education projects, Mr. Marsh has experience with a variety of project types including historic preservation and a few local bridges. He holds a Master's degree in Architecture from the NewSchool of Architecture, San Diego and a B.A. (Hons) Fine Art Combined Media from the Chelsea College of Art in London. He is also an active board member and nominee for Uptown Planners community planning group.

Mr. Blackson is a practicing urban designer, author, lecturer, and educator. His experience includes working as Program Manager for the City of San Diego's Civic Innovation Lab, directed planning with PlaceMakers on projects across North America, and led Stantec Architecture's San Diego studio. His advocacy has led to assisting the city in developing its parklet program, its recent open streets program, and Balboa Park's Plaza de Panama. Mr. Blackson is educated at the University of Westminster, London (MA-Urban Design), and University of Texas at Austin (BA-Geography) and teaches San Diego State University's urban design studio. Mr. Blackson is a nominee of the North Park Planning Committee.

Ms. Dawe has served as a member of the Balboa Park Committee representing District 3 since 2017. She is a Senior Policy Advisor to San Diego County Board of Supervisors Chair Nathan Fletcher, and was previously a Policy Consultant for the San Diego Housing Federation and a legislative correspondent for U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer. Ms. Dawe's civic experience includes serving as a board member of the San Diego Museum of Us, and is a founding member and incoming Co-President of the nonprofit organization Women Give San Diego. Her educational background includes a Bachelor of Arts in History from Whitman College and a Juris Doctorate from the Seattle University School of Law. Ms. Dawe is a nominee of Council President Pro Tempore Stephen Whitburn representing Council District 3.

Ms. Johnston has served as a member of the Balboa Park Committee representing District 3 since 2017. She is a seasoned nonprofit and public affairs professional with extensive experience in public policy development, strategic communications, and community outreach. Most recently, Katherine served as Vice President of Presidio PAG, Inc., where she managed a portfolio of nonprofit and corporate clients. Ms. Johnston's educational background includes a B.A. in Political Science from the University of California San Diego and a Master's Degree from University of California Los Angeles.

Ms. Curran is a professor of Communication at Grossmont College where she educates students on effective communication skills, critical thinking, and public speaking. Ms. Curran's board experience includes positions on the Greater Golden Hill Planning Group, the Greater Golden Hill Garden Group, and the Greater Golden Hill Community Development Corporation. She received her Master of Arts degree in Communication at San Diego State University. Ms. Curran is a nominee of the Golden Hills Planning Group. Page 2 Honorable Jennifer Campbell, Council President Honorable Councilmembers July 21, 2021

I am confident that these individuals will bring their invaluable experiences and expertise to the Balboa Park Committee, and I thank them for their willingness to serve in this capacity.

MTG:mg

cc: Honorable Mara Elliott, City Attorney Elizabeth Maland, City Clerk Andrea Tevlin, Independent Budget Analyst