

KEVIN L. FAULCONER MAYOR

MEMORANDUM

DATE:

April 14, 2014

TO:

Honorable Todd Gloria, Council President

Honorable Councilmembers

FROM:

Mayor Kevin L. Faulconer

SUBJECT: Appointments to Civic San Diego Board of Directors

It is my pleasure to appoint Ms. Donna Jones and Mr. Theodore Shaw to the Civic San Diego Board of Directors.

Ms. Jones is a CEQA and land use partner at Richter & Hampton LLP and is the immediate past Chair of Civic San Diego. She has served for two years as Chair of Public Policy for the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce and serves on the Chamber's Management Council and Board of Directors. She previously chaired the Downtown San Diego Partnership and continues to serve on the DSDP's Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

Ms. Jones recently was honored by the *San Diego Business Journal* as one of 2013's "Women Who Mean Business" and was named one of the *Best Lawyers in America* (2011-2013) and *San Diego Super Lawyer* (2011-2013). Ms. Jones was a member of the Mayor's Civic Leadership Team and served on the Downtown Implementing Committee established to monitor implementation of the Downtown Community Plan. Ms. Jones has served on the City of San Diego's Historic Resources Board and its Wetlands Advisory Board.

Mr. Shaw is a Senior Land Use Consultant at Atlantis Group with more than 25 years of experience. During his career, he worked for public agencies and private clients where he applied his broad range of land planning, entitlement, and project management skills to assist his clients. He began his professional planning career in 1986 with the City of San Diego in the Planning Department.

Mr. Shaw is active in several professional organizations including NAIOP San Diego where he sits on the Board of Directors, San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce, and the County of San Diego's Land Development Performance Review Committee.

I look forward to working with Ms. Donna Jones and Mr. Theodore Shaw and I am confident they will provide welcome expertise to the Civic San Diego Board of Directors.

KLF:fb

cc: Honorable Jan Goldsmith, City Attorney Andrea Tevlin, Independent Budget Analyst Liz Maland, City Clerk