

## MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 5, 2014

TO: Honorable Todd Gloria, Council President

**Honorable Councilmembers** 

FROM: Mayor Kevin L. Faulconer

SUBJECT: Nominations for the San Diego City Youth Commission

I am seeking nominations for the San Diego City Youth Commission.

Under Article 6 §26.1601, the purpose and intent of the San Diego City Youth Commission is to serve as an advisory body to the Mayor and City Council on issues of interest to youth and pertaining to the youth in the City of San Diego. Youth and young adults are impacted by the decisions of City Officials, but seldom have the opportunity to directly participate in the process. The Youth Commission facilitates the participation of youth in local government as well as provides City Officials an opportunity to heat and address their ideas and concerns.

Each council district may submit up names for consideration for appointment. I will appoint two members from the pool of nominees provided by each City Councilmember. The following members are eligible for reappointment:

District	Commissioner	Appointment Date	Term Expiration
District 1	Madeleine Garay	11/13/2013	7/1/2014
District 1	Melinda Wang	11/13/2013	7/1/2014
District 2	Jensen Briely	7/31/2012	7/1/2014
District 2	Madeline Ottilie	7/31/2012	7/1/2014
District 4	Anoushka Bose	6/5/2014	7/1/2014
District 4	Justin Young	7/31/2012	7/1/2014
District 5	Preetam Sondararajan	7/31/2012	7/1/2014
District 6	Ashlyn R. Lipori-Russie	7/31/2012	7/1/2014
District 7	Christian Ocon	11/13/2013	7/1/2014
District 8	Miguel Tello	7/31/2012	7/1/2014
District 9	Armand Binobe	11/13/2013	7/1/2014
District 9	Hawo Abdi	11/13/2013	7/1/2014

Please submit nominations by September 19, 2014.