Office of The City Attorney City of San Diego

MEMORANDUM

DATE:	January 25, 2022			
то:	Elizabeth Maland, City Clerk			
FROM:	Kathy J. Steinman, Deputy City Attorney			
SUBJECT:	Conclusion of Service of 2020 Redistricting Commissioners			

This memorandum will confirm that on Thursday, January 20, 2022, the 2020 Redistricting Commission voted 7-0, with Commissioners Nielsen and Roberts absent, to determine that their work had concluded and their service on the panel would officially end at the close of business on January 20, 2022. A copy of the minutes of the Commission's final meeting is attached, which also confirms the end of their service.

I informed the Commission that each member will need to file a "Leaving Office" statement of economic interests and that they will be receiving a related letter your office.

I have informed Deputy Director Jennifer Berry that this information would be confirmed for you in this memorandum, so that your office may begin the process of gathering "Leaving Office" disclosure forms from the seven commissioners. In addition, the Commission's Chief of Staff, Lora Fleming, will be ending her employment with the City on February 11, 2022. I have informed her that she also has a duty to file a Form 700 when she leaves office.

Please contact me if you need additional information.

MARA W. ELLIOTT, CITY ATTORNEY

By <u>/s/Kathy J. Steinman</u>

Kathy J. Steinman Deputy City Attorney

KJS:jvg
Doc. No.: 2850257_2
Enclosure
cc: Jennifer Berry, Deputy Director, Office of the City Clerk
Lora Fleming, Chief of Staff, 2020 Redistricting Commission



Redistricting Commission

Record of Action | Virtual Meeting (Zoom Webinar) Thursday, January 20, 2022 | 4:00 p.m.

This meeting aired live on the City's Zoom Webinar platform.

Commissioners Present Val Hoy Fred Kosmo Roy MacPhail Kenneth Malbrough Alan Nevin Monica Hernandez Thomas Hebrank <u>City Staff Present</u> Kathy Steinman, Deputy City Attorney Lora Fleming, Redistricting Commission Chief of Staff

Commissioner Roll Call

- Redistricting Commission Chair Hebrank called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. and the roll was called to confirm Commission member attendance.
 - **Present**: Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank;
 - Not Present: Justine Nielsen, Kristen Roberts.

Non-Agenda Public Comment

- No written comments were submitted since the last meeting.
- Two speakers provided public comment during Non-Agenda Public Comment:

Name:	Organization:	District or Community:	Non Agenda or Agenda Item:	Comments Summary:
Raul Campillo	San Diego City Council	District 7	Non-Agenda	Thanked Commissioners for their time, effort and responsiveness to the public. The Commission digged into the details and provided good and reasoned arguments for the decisions made.
				Thanked Commission for their service. Reemphasized Commissioner Hoy's comments
Janie Emerson		District 1	Non-Agenda	about lobbyists.

Item 1- Approve Record of Action for December 15, 2021 Meeting

- ACTION: Commissioner Hernandez made a motion to approve the Record of Action for December 15, 2021. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Malbrough and approved 7-0 by the Commission members by a roll call vote.
 - **Yea**: Val Hoy, Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank;
 - Nay: (None);
 - Recused: (None);
 - Not Present: Justine Nielsen, Kristen Roberts.

Item 2 - Approve Dissolving Redistricting Commission Until the Next Federal Decennial Census

- ACTION: Commissioner MacPhail made a motion to determine that the work on the Commission has completed as of the close of business day on January 20, 2022, and to declare an end to the Commissioners' service. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nevin and approved 7-0 by the Commission members by a roll call vote.
 - **Yea**: Val Hoy, Fred Kosmo, Roy MacPhail, Kenneth Malbrough, Alan Nevin, Monica Hernandez, Thomas Hebrank;
 - Nay: (None);
 - Recused: (None);
 - o Not Present: Justine Nielsen, Kristen Roberts.

Item 3- Adjournment

• Chair Hebrank adjourned the final Commission meeting at 4:11 p.m.