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Mission Bay DUI Checkpoint Nets 8 Arrests 

 
San Diego – The San Diego Police Department Traffic Division conducted a DUI/Driver License 
checkpoint on June 3, 2022, at 1300 West Mission Bay Drive, between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 
2:30 a.m.  Checkpoints are placed in locations that have the greatest opportunity for achieving 
drunk and drugged driving deterrence and provide the greatest safety for officers and the public. 
The checkpoint resulted in the following:   

966 Total vehicles through checkpoint 

452 Vehicles screened 

13 Drivers evaluated 

7 DUI-Alcohol suspect arrested in or near the checkpoint  

0 DUI-Drug impaired drivers arrested  

0 Suspects arrested for illegal drugs (possession/transportation/sales) 

1 Arrested on other Criminal Charges 

0 Drivers cited/arrested for operating a vehicle unlicensed or while suspended/revoked  

0 Citations issued 

7 Vehicle impounds conducted 

DUI/Driver License checkpoints have been shown to lower DUI deaths and injuries.  According to 
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), checkpoints have provided the most 
effective documented results of any of the DUI enforcement strategies, while also yielding 
considerable cost savings of $6 for every $1 spent.  Ninety percent of California drivers approve of 
checkpoints. 

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines, 
fees, DUI classes, other expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention the embarrassment when 
friends and family find out. 

The San Diego Police Department will be conducting another DUI/Driver License Checkpoint or DUI 
saturation patrol on June 9, 2022, in our ongoing commitment to lowering deaths and injuries upon 
our streets and highways. 
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The checkpoint was funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to “Report Drunk Drivers – 
Call 9-1-1”.  
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