



## For Immediate Release: Sunday, July 2, 2023

Contact: Sergeant Gregory Minter at (858) 495-7821 or <a href="mailto:gminter@pd.sandiego.gov">gminter@pd.sandiego.gov</a>

## SDPD/CHP DUI Checkpoint Nets 11 Arrests in Pacific Beach

San Diego – The San Diego Police Department Traffic Division, along with officers from the California Highway Patrol (San Diego), conducted a DUI/Driver License checkpoint on July 1, 2023, at 2400 Grand Avenue, between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 3:00 a.m. Checkpoints are placed in locations that have the greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving deterrence and provide the greatest safety for officers and the public. The checkpoint resulted in the following:

2140 Total vehicles through checkpoint

1014 Vehicles screened

21 Drivers evaluated

10 DUI-Alcohol suspect arrested in or near the checkpoint

1 DUI-Drug impaired drivers arrested

o Suspect arrested for illegal drugs (possession/transportation/sales)

o Arrested on other Criminal Charges

o Driver cited/arrested for operating a vehicle unlicensed or while suspended/revoked

o Citations issued

## 11 Vehicle impounds conducted

DUI/Driver License checkpoints have been shown to lower DUI deaths and injuries. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), checkpoints have provided the most effective documented results of any of the DUI enforcement strategies, while also yielding considerable cost savings of \$6 for every \$1 spent. Ninety percent of California drivers approve of checkpoints.

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines, fees, DUI classes, other expenses that can exceed \$13,500 not to mention the embarrassment when friends and family find out.

The San Diego Police Department will be conducting additional DUI/Driver License Checkpoints and DUI saturation patrols in our ongoing commitment to lowering deaths and injuries upon our streets and highways.





The checkpoint was funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to "Report Drunk Drivers – Call 9–1–1".