
        Parks & Recreation Department CHILD ABUSE 
REPORTING PROCEDURES for          
NON-MANDATED REPORTERS 

(Updated 11-03) 

DEFINITIONS 
CHILD ABUSE - physical abuse, neglect, sexual abuse or emotional abuse of a “child” 
under the age of 18 years. 
NON-MANDATED REPORTERS - all volunteers, and employees who do NOT directly 
supervise children (primarily employees in office and field positions); no legal 
requirement to report, however, expected to notify supervisor. 

NON-MANDATED REPORTERS: volunteers, and field, office, and building staff 
(a) If it is an emergency, call 911.
(b) If it is not an emergency, notify a Department Supervisor who will assess the

situation and determine if a report needs to be made. If questions whether on
not to make a report, call either SDPD or the Child Abuse Hotline (numbers
provided below). If a decision is made to make a report, then either the
supervisor or the non-mandated reporter can make the call and follow the
same documentation procedures for mandated reporters.

(c) To make a report, call:
- San Diego Police Department weekdays (619) 531-2260; weekends and
after hours 531-2000
OR
-CHILD ABUSE HOTLINE at 858/560-2191
San Diego Police Department (SDPD) and the Child Abuse Hotline will
complete/submit the Suspected Child Abuse Report within 36 hours of the
call.

(d) Record the following information in your files:
-date and time the report was made
-name (optional), supervisor and work location of the staff making report
-name of agency contacted (SDPD or Child Abuse Hotline)
Keep the original and submit a copy to Division Office Manager.

ADDITIONAL PENAL CODE CONSIDERATIONS 
RE: NON-MANDATED REPORTERS 
Any non-mandated reporter cannot incur civil or criminal liability unless it can be 
proven that a false report was made (and that the non-mandated reporter knew the 
report was false).  Non-mandated reporters are not required to give their names 
although it is helpful to do so if more information is needed at a later date.  The penalty 
for retaliation against a reporter of suspected child abuse is a felony. 
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WHAT IS CHILD ABUSE? 
 
Under California law, child abuse is a crime. Children need protection because they are vulnerable 
and often unable to speak for themselves. The California Child Abuse Reporting Law, along with 
other state laws, provides the legal basis for action to protect children and to allow intervention by 
public agencies if a child is maltreated. 
 
California law defines child abuse as any of the following: 
• A child is physically injured by other than accidental means 
• A child is subjected to willful cruelty or unjustifiable punishment 
• A child is abused or exploited sexually 
• A child is neglected by a parent or caretaker who fails to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, 

medical care or supervision. 
 
Any child may be victimized. Child abuse crosses all socioeconomic, ethnic, cultural, occupational, 
religious and age groups. It can occur in the child’s home or outside the family. Tragically, it happens 
most often at home, and usually the abuser is known to the child. Generally, the abuser is a 
caretaker. A caretaker can be a parent, stepparent, relative or a child care provider. 
 
WHY SHOULD I REPORT CHILD ABUSE? 
 
Sometimes people are afraid to get involved in a child abuse situation. Ignoring any problem will not 
make it go away or get better. Ignoring child abuse may result in serious injury or even the death of a 
child. 
 
All children have the right to grow up in a safe environment. Child abuse, in all its forms, has a more 
long-lasting and negative effect on children, families and the whole community than most people 
realize. At its worst, its destructive impact haunts its victim through life and can prevent the child from 
becoming a productive adult. Parents who were mistreated as children will often mistreat their 
children. The National Center on Child Abuse and Neglect reports that over 2,000 children die each 
year due to abuse or neglect. Reporting child abuse is a first step in stopping this devastating cycle. 
 
People who hurt children usually need help to change their behavior. Many only get help after 
someone calls attention to the fact they need it, by reporting the abuse of their child. 
 
WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME IF I MAKE A REPORT? 
 
Anyone who reports known or suspected child abuse is protected by the law from civil or criminal 
liability, unless it can be proven the report was false and the person who made the report knew it was 
false. Any person, except a mandated reporter, who reports child abuse may remain anonymous. 
(Some groups of persons are specified in law as mandated reporters and are required to give their 
names. They are also provided unqualified immunity from civil liability.)  However, it is helpful to give 
your name and telephone number to the social worker or law enforcement officer taking the report, in 
the event he or she needs to obtain more information later. 



HOW DOES CHILD ABUSE GET REPORTED? 
 
A report is made by telephoning one of the local child protective agencies and talking with them about 
the child’s situation. A child protective agency is either the county social services department (in a few 
counties it is the probation department) or the local law enforcement agency (police or sheriff). Social 
services departments provide child welfare services in California. Except for situations involving 
allegations of general neglect, child protective agencies are required to cross-report to each other. 
“Cross-reporting” means that the different agencies inform each other of reports so that each agency 
can take appropriate steps to respond. “General neglect” means the negligent failure of a person to 
provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, medical care or supervision for a child under the person’s 
care or custody. General neglect is handled only by the social services department. 
 
HOW DO I KNOW WHEN TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE? 
 
Reporting should be done when a person either knows or suspects that a child has been or is in 
danger of abuse or neglect. Hard proof is not needed to make a report. However, reports must be 
made in good faith. Use common sense. A report of child abuse is serious and may have a lifelong 
impact on the child and his or her family. Never make a false or malicious report. If you are in doubt at 
all about whether to report a particular situation, telephone the emergency response intake worker at 
your local child protective agency in the county social services or probation department and discuss 
the situation. 
 
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER A REPORT IS MADE? 
 
When receiving a report about suspected child abuse or neglect, the social worker or law 
enforcement officer on duty will speak to the person making the report in order to obtain information 
about the child. The kind of information needed includes answers to such questions as: What type of 
abuse has occurred? Who or what caused the abuse? Most importantly, the person receiving the call 
will need to ask: “Is the child still in a dangerous situation or in need of medical care?” 
 
No two reports are handled in exactly the same way. Decisions by all the people involved are based 
on each child’s situation. Even reports on two children in the same family may be handled differently; 
the agency receiving the report will determine how to proceed, based on the information available. 
What the response will be and how quickly it will be made depends on the seriousness of the events 
reported and the situation the child faces. Where it appears that the child is in danger, the response 
will be immediate. Where there is less risk involved, it may be three to ten days before action is taken. 
Not all reports are serious enough to require the assistance of the law enforcement agency. In those 
events, the family may be contacted only by the local social service department. An in-person 
response may not be made when the county social services department, based upon as assessment, 
determines that one is not appropriate. 
 
The investigations by the child welfare services agency and law enforcement are conducted 
separately. The child welfare agency will concern itself with the welfare of the child and family. Law 
enforcement efforts will focus on obtaining evidence to determine whether a crime has been 
committed and by whom. 



Physical and Behavioral Indicators of Child Abuse and Neglect 
 

TYPE PHYSICAL INDICATORS BEHAVIORAL INDICATORS 
PHYSICAL 
ABUSE 

Unexplained Bruises and Welts: 
 - on face, lips, mouth 
 - on torso, back, buttocks, thighs in various stages of 

healing 
 - clustered, forming regular patterns 
 - reflecting shape of article used to inflict (electric 

cord, belt buckle) on several different surface areas 
 - regularly appear after absence, weekend or vacation 
Unexplained Burns: 
 - cigar, cigarette burns, especially on soles, palms, 

back or buttocks 
 - immersion burns (sock-like, glove-like, doughnut 

shaped on buttocks or genitalia) 
 - patterned like electric burner, iron, etc. 
 - rope burns on arms, legs, neck or torso 
Unexplained Fractures: 
 - to skull, nose, facial structure 
 - in various stages of healing 
 - multiple or spiral fractures 
Unexplained Lacerations or Abrasions 
 - to mouth, lips, gums, eyes 
 - to external genitalia 

Wary of Adult Contacts 
Apprehensive When Other Children Cry 
Behavioral Extremes: 
 - aggressiveness, or 
 - withdrawal 
Frightened of Parents 
Afraid to go Home 
Reports Injury by Parents 

PHYSICAL 
NEGLECT 

Consistent Hunger, Poor Hygiene, Inappropriate Dress 
Consistent Lack of Supervision, Especially in 
Dangerous Activities or Long Periods 
Unattended Physical Problems or Medical Needs 
Abandonment 

Begging, Stealing Food 
Extended Stays at School (early arrival and late 
departure) 
Constant Fatigue, Listlessness or Falling Asleep 
in Class 
Alcohol or Drug Abuse 
Delinquency (e.g. thefts) 
States There is No Caretaker 

SEXUAL 
ABUSE 

Difficulty in Walking or Sitting 
Torn, Stained or Bloody Underclothing 
Pain or Itching in Genital Area 
Bruises or Bleeding in External Genitalia, Vaginal or 
Anal Areas 
Venereal Disease, Especially in Pre-teens 
Pregnancy 

Unwilling to Change for Gym or Participate in 
Physical Activities 
Withdrawal, Fantasy or Infantile Behavior 
Bizarre, Sophisticated or Unusual Sexual 
Behavior or Knowledge 
Poor Peer Relationships 
Delinquent or Run Away 
Reports Sexual Assault by Caretaker 

EMOTIONAL 
ABUSE 

Speech Disorders 
Lags in Physical Development (Failure to Thrive) 

Habit Disorders (sucking, biting, rocking, etc.) 
Conduct Disorders (antisocial, destructive, etc.) 
Neurotic Traits (sleep disorders, inhibition of 
play) 
Psychoneurotic Reactions (hysteria, obsession, 
compulsion, phobias, hypochondria) 
Behavior Extremes: 
 - compliant, passive 
 - aggressive, demanding 
Overly Adaptive Behavior: 
 - inappropriately adult 
 - inappropriately infant 
Developmental Lags (mental, emotional) 
Attempted Suicide 
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