

City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture **PUBLIC ART COMMITTEE**

AGENDA

San Diego Central Library, Mary Hollis Room 330 Park Blvd, San Diego, CA 92101 Hyperlink to attend the meeting at its scheduled time available <u>here</u>

Friday, June 9, 2023

8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

8:30 a.m.	I.	Call to Order	Fritz Friedman, Vice Chair
8:35 a.m.	II.	Non-agenda Public Comment	
8:40 a.m.	III.	 Chair's Reports A. Commission Business B. ACTION – March 9, 2023 Minutes C. Other Reports 	
8:50 a.m.	IV.	Reports A. Staff Reports B. Committee Member Reports	Christine E. Jones, Chief of Civic Art Strategies
	V.	Tour of Civic Art Collection at San Diego Central Library	

9:30 a.m. VI. Adjourn

Meetings will be recorded. PUBLIC COMMENT: Any member of the public may address the Committee on any agenda item during agenda item public comment, or on any matter not presently pending or previously discussed at the Committee that is within the Committee's area of responsibility during non-agenda public comment. Each public comment speaker is limited to three (3) minutes. In addition to inperson attendance, members of the public may submit their comments via a public comment <u>webform</u>, or they may join the meeting as a "webinar attendee" at the link provided in the Commission or Committee meeting website. For members of the public wishing to address the Committee under Public Comment via the <u>webform</u> prior to the meeting, instructions for word limitations and deadlines will be noted on the <u>webform</u>. As required by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), requests for agenda information to be made available in alternative formats, and any requests for disability-related modifications or accommodations required to facilitate meeting participation, including requests for alternatives to observing meetings and offering public comment as noted above, may be made by contacting the City Clerk at (619) 533-4000 or <u>mailto:cityclerk@sandiego.gov</u>. The City is committed to resolving accessibility requests swiftly in order to maximize accessibility.



City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture

PUBLIC ART COMMITTEE (PAC)

MINUTES

Thursday, March 9, 2023

<u>Members Present</u> Keith Opstad, Chair Fritz Friedman, Vice Chair Francisco Eme Wayne Holtan Imani Robinson Denise Rogers Members Absent Eun Jung Park Anthony Graham Melinda Guillen Abe Hughes Alessandra Moctezuma Ann Bossler, Ex Officio <u>Staff Present</u> Lara Bullock Jonathon Glus Christine E. Jones Charles G. Miller Bell Reza

- I. <u>Call to Order | View Here</u> Commissioner Keith Opstad called the City of San Diego (City) Commission for Arts and Culture's Public Art Committee (PAC) to order at 8:42 a.m. at the Mary Hollis Room, San Diego Central Library, 330 Park Boulevard, San Diego, California 92101.
- II. <u>Non-agenda Public Comment</u> None
- III. Chair's Reports
 - A. <u>Commission Business</u> <u>View Here</u>
 - B. <u>ACTION January 6, 2023, Minutes | View Here</u> Commissioner Keith Opstad introduced the item. Commissioner Fritz Friedman made a motion to approve the PAC minutes of January 6, 2023. Wayne Holtan seconded the motion. The vote was 6-0-0; the motion passed.

Yea: Eme, Friedman, Holtan, Opstad, Robinson, and Rogers (6)

Nay: (0)

Abstention: (0)

Recusal: (0)

- C. <u>Other Reports</u> None
- IV. ACTION Final Artwork Proposal for Beyer Park by Ingram Ober and Marisol Rendón | View Here

Commissioner Opstad introduced the item. Denise Rogers made a motion to recommend to the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture that the Executive Director of the Commission accept the final artwork proposal by Ingram Ober and Marisol Rendón in fulfillment of the City of San Diego's collecting mission, collection scope and accession criteria as established in Section 5
 Collecting Mission, Section 6 – Scope of the Collection and Section 8.2 – Accession Criteria of the Commission for Arts and Culture Department Instruction 1.00 – Collection Management

Policy for the Civic Art Collection. Wayne Holtan seconded the motion. The vote was 6-0-0; the motion passed.

Yea: Eme, Friedman, Holtan, Opstad, Robinson, and Rogers (6) Nay: (0) Abstention: (0) Recusal: (0)

- V. <u>Reports</u>
 - A. <u>Staff Reports</u> <u>View Here</u>
 - B. <u>Committee Member Reports</u> <u>View Here</u>

Reports were provided prior to item IV on the agenda during the meeting.

VI. <u>Adjourn</u> – Commissioner Opstad adjourned the meeting at 9:45 a.m.