

SAN DIEGO Parking Citation Payment Plan Factsheet

Overview

Effective July 1, 2018 payment plans will be available to customers qualified as low income. Low income payment plan parameters are as follows:

- Payment plans are only available to the registered owner or lessee of a vehicle.
- Customers can request an application by emailing, parking@sandiego.gov or by calling 1-866-470-1308.
- Vehicle must be registered in California.
- Application must be made within 120 days from the date of issuance, or 30 days from the Administrative Hearing/Superior Court date, whichever is greater.
- If approved:
 - All late fees and penalties will be waived exclusive of State mandated surcharges.
 - Monthly payment installments will not exceed \$25 on fine amounts of \$300 or less.
 - The number of monthly installments are predetermined by the City based on the fine amount, however, payment plans cannot exceed 24 months.
 - There is a \$5 fee per citation to enroll in a payment plan.
 - Monthly payment amounts must be received timely on or before predetermined installment dates.
 - All late fees and penalty assessments will be reinstated for customers that fall out of compliance.

Low Income Payment Plan Qualifications

Low income qualifications can be met in one of two ways. Registered owner's or lessee's:

- 1. Monthly income is 200 percent or less of the current United States Department of Health and Human Services poverty guidelines. **Proof of income from a payment stub/proof of earnings required.**
- 2. Receiving public benefits from at least one of the following programs: **Proof of receipt of benefit required.**
 - o Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
 - o State Supplementary Payment (SSP)
 - o California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids Act (CalWORKs)
 - o Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (EBT)
 - o County Relief, General Relief (GR), or General Assistance (GA)
 - o Cash Assistance Program for Aged, Blind, and Disabled Legal Immigrants
 - o In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS)
 - o Med-Cal
 - California Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Woman, Infants, and Children (WIC Program)
 - Unemployment Compensation

*Customers that do not meet the low income requirements may request a payment plan, however, no late fees or penalties are waived, a \$25 fee will be assessed, and it cannot exceed 18 months.