

## SAN DIEGO ENTREPRENEURS EXCHANGE BY ENTREPRENEURS FOR ENTREPRENEURS

January 16, 2018

RE: Support for Community Choice Energy (CCE)

Dear Mayor Faulconer and Council,

Thank you for taking a leading role in addressing climate change and moving our city toward a 100% clean energy future.

<u>The San Diego Entrepreneurs Exchange</u> (SDEE), by unanimous vote of its Executive Committee, strongly supports the City's initiative to move forward with Community Choice Energy.

Community Choice Energy is essential for achieving San Diego's Climate Action Plan goals. Community Choice gives San Diegans local control over our energy future, helps stabilize or reduce our rates, and provides us with the freedom to choose the source of our electricity.

We are particularly interested in the opportunity for a local community choice program to buy increasing amounts of power from local sources, supporting local jobs and local economic development.

As entrepreneurs, we foresee greater opportunities for innovation by locating more decision-making power on renewable energy strategies at the local level.

We believe the city should join California's nine counties and 65 cities in the movement for clean energy, clean jobs, and local choice through Community Choice Energy.

Thank you for supporting the freedom of energy choice for San Diego. We look forward to partnering with you on creating a stronger, more resilient clean energy future.

Sincerely,

Taylor Moyer, President San Diego Entrepreneurs Exchange 11558 Sorrento Valley Rd., Suite 4 San Diego, CA 92121

Scott Thacher, Orphagen Pharmaceuticals Danielle Hayes, Orphagen Pharmaceuticals Scott Struthers, Crinetics Pharmaceuticals Jiwu Wang, Allele Biotechnology Kathrin Copley, Allele Biotechnology Randall Schreckhise, August Therapeutics Ted Jacobs, Cushman & Wakefield Ruo Steensma, Johnson & Johnson Sylvia Norman, Sandhill Crane Diagnostics Amy Duncan, Goldfish Consulting Marilyn Ferrari, Cesira, Inc. Lynda Groocock, Abilita Bio Mark Lee, Certara Michelle Yankauckas, Cardinal Regulatory Health

For e-mail delivery only:

CC: Kevin Faulconer, Mayor kevinfaulconer@sandiego.gov
Myrtle Cole, Council President myrtlecole@sandiego.gov
Mark Kersey, Council President Pro Tem markkersey@sandiego.gov
Barbara Bry, Councilmember barbarabry@sandiego.gov
Lorie Zapf, Councilmember loriezapf@sandiego.gov
Christopher Ward, Councilmember christopherward@sandiego.gov
Chris Cate, Councilmember chriscate@sandiego.gov
Scott Sherman, Councilmember scottsherman@sandiego.gov
David Alvarez, Councilmember davidalvarez@sandiego.gov
Georgette Gomez, Councilmember georgettegomez@sandiego.gov