Skip to main content

Planning Commission

About the Commission

The Planning Commission recommends changes in the City’s General Plan and community plans; makes recommendations on the Capital Improvements Budget, re-zonings and related land use matters; and has final approval on subdivisions as well as many permit types.

Planning Commission members are volunteers appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. The Planning Commission conducts public hearings and acts on items in accordance with the San Diego Municipal Code.

Planning Commissioners are subject to the California Political Reform Act and the City's Ethics Ordinance and are required to file Statements of Economic Interest. They must disclose any conflicts of interest and recuse himself or herself from the meeting if necessary.

Planning Commissioners are also subject to due process requirements and must conduct hearings in an impartial manner. Therefore, it is inappropriate to contact a Planning Commissioner to discuss any item that will come before them in a meeting. If such contact occurs, the Planning Commissioner may be subject to recusal from that item.

Meeting Information


Hearings are typically conducted twice a month on Thursdays at 9 a.m.


Please see agenda for location. 

Submitting Project Information

All project information for Planning Commission consideration must be submitted to the Recording Secretary. All materials must be submitted to the Recording Secretary 10 calendar days prior to the meeting via:  

  • Mail or Delivery: All submittals must include 10 copies of the material;
    City of San Diego Planning Commission
    1222 First Ave, 5th floor
    San Diego, CA 92101
  • At the Public Meeting: All submittals must include 12 copies of the material.

If your project information is received at the meeting, the Planning Commission may not be able to review and consider your information thoroughly.

Public Comment

Persons may address the Planning Commission during the public comment section of the agenda on topics not listed on the agenda or may address the Commission during public testimony on each agenda action item. Speakers will usually have three minutes. Times may be altered by the Chair of the Planning Commission. Comment on Agenda Items, Non-Agenda Public Comment may be submitted using the webform indicating the comment type and item number (if relevant) for which you wish to submit your comment.

Appeals and Notices