Skip to main content

City Planning Department

Community Planning

The City of San Diego is divided up into 52 community planning areas which have their own Community Plan. While the General Plan Land Use Element provides broad land use policies that apply to the City as a whole, community plans provide more detailed guidance for how the individual community will be planned over the next 30 years. This includes policies on land use, mobility, urban design, public facilities and services, natural resources, historic and cultural resources, and economic development. Community plan updates, in coordination with the General Plan and its Land Use Element, achieve both citywide and community-level goals.

To view your community's plan, including planning group agendas and minutes, please select your community from the list or map below.