Skip to main content

International Affairs Board

About the Board

I.A.B.Board Members


Seventeen (17) members who are residents of the County of San Diego at the time of appointment and during incumbency and shall be qualified by training, experience, or interest in international affairs. Each member is prohibited from engaging in activities that could result in a conflict of interest.


Appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. 


The members shall serve two-year terms and each member shall serve until his successor is duly appointed and qualified. The members shall be appointed in such a manner that the terms of not more than six (6) members shall expire in any year. The expiration date shall be March 1.


San Diego Municipal Code, Chapter II, Art. 6 Sec. 26.22 & 26.23 (PDF) - first adopted 5-26-1966; amended by Ordinance O-10273, N.S., adopted 4-21-1970. Council Policy 000-13. Resolution R-218868, 7-20-1977. Amended by Ordinance O-20179, N.S., adopted 7-5-2012.