Skip to main content

Sustainability and Mobility

Advisory Committees

Climate Action Plan Review Committee

CAPRC Meetings Page

In accordance with Section 43(b) of the City Charter, the Climate Action Plan Review Committee (CAPRC) was created. The Committee commenced its work in May 2022 and dissolved in August 2022 upon the completion of the specified objectives.

This committee was established as a temporary advisory group with two specific functions:

  1. Review and provide feedback to the City on the draft Climate Action Plan (CAP) update - including the proposed strategies and actions, and all other content related to the CAP.
  2. Develop recommendations on how the City can engage residents, communities, and non-governmental organizations to guide the plan's implementation. These recommendations may include input on the forthcoming implementation plan, budget priorities, and other community engagement initiatives.

Sustainable Energy Advisory Board (SEAB)

SEAB Meetings Page


The Sustainable Energy Advisory Board meets from 10 a.m. to noon on the second Thursday of every month in the auditorium at 9601 Ridgehaven Court, San Diego.


  1. Advise the Mayor and City Council on energy policy and be responsible for recommending future energy guidelines to accomplish the goals of the “Energy 2030: The San Diego Regional Energy Strategy” adopted by the San Diego Association of Governments [SANDAG] in July 2003.
  2. Advise on the best and most cost-effective method to implement a City goal to install at least fifty (50) megawatts of renewable-fueled electric generating capacity in public and private facilities by the year 2013.
  3. Advise how the City can remove barriers to the development of renewable energy facilities for public and private facilities in the San Diego region.
  4. Advise on how the City can provide incentives for the development of renewable energy resources.
  5. Coordinate with City staff to develop innovative mechanisms for financing renewable energy resources.
  6. Become aware of and develop competence in energy issues and be broadly representative of the community interests.
  7. Seek participation by regional business and political leaders and public interest groups in energy issues.
  8. Coordinate energy planning activities with the City Energy Administrator.
  9. Perform such other studies as may be specifically requested by the Mayor and Council and provide information and advise thereon.
  10. Report progress at a meeting of the Rules Committee no later than Jan. 3, 2004, and every six months thereafter.


Appointed by Mayor and confirmed by the City Council.


Two-year terms and each member shall serve until a successor is duly appointed and confirmed. The members shall be appointed in such a manner that the terms of not more than five (5) members shall expire in any year. The expiration date of all terms shall be March 1. During March of each year, the Mayor may designate one (1) member as Chairperson; however, in the absence of such designation, the Board shall, on or after April 15, select from among its members a Chairperson.


Eleven (11) members; seven designated members, two at-large members, and two alternate members. The seven designated members shall be appointed from the following representative areas of organizational interest, expertise, and background: San Diego Regional Energy Office [SANDAG], San Diego Gas & Electric Company, Environmental Advocate, Labor Organization, Solar Power System Manufacturer or Installer, Building Industry, Chamber of Commerce/Business Community. The two at-large representatives and the two alternative members shall be appointed at the discretion of the Mayor and subject to confirmation by the Council.

Governed By

Municipal Code Section 26.04. Board established by Ordinance 0-15631 NS on Dec. 7, 1981. Amended by Ordinance O-19224 on Oct. 13, 2003.