Skip to main content

Councilmember Stephen Whitburn (District 3)


Downtown San Diego encompasses eight different neighborhoods: Gaslamp, East Village, Columbia, Marina, Cortez, Little Italy, Horton Plaza, and Core. These neighborhoods are the center of our business, arts, and entertainment communities. Twenty years of redevelopment transformed Downtown into a vibrant and exciting place to live, work and play.

Community Meetings

Downtown Community Planning Council
Meets 3rd Wednesday of the month at 5:30pm
Civic San Diego, 401 B Street, Fourth Floor
Contact: Pat Stark, Chair

Downtown Parking Management Group
Meets the 2nd Thursday of the month at 11:30 a.m.
City of San Diego, Civic Center Plaza, 1200 Third Ave., 4th Floor Conference Room
Contact: Ben Verdugo, Civic San Diego
Contact: Tanner French, City of San Diego

Downtown Residents Group
Meets the 3rd Monday of the month at 6:00pm
The Sophia Hotel, 150 W Broadway
Contact:Gary Smith, President

East Village Association
Meets the first Thursday of the month at 5:00pm
Thomas Jefferson School of Law
Contact:Dora McCann Guerreiro, Executive Director

Gaslamp Quarter Association
Meets the last Wednesday of the month at 3:30pm
Location varies.
Contact:Michael Trimble, Executive Director

East Village Residents Group
Please see website to verify meeting times and dates
Central Library, Neil Morgan Auditorium, 330 Park Blvd.
Contact:Kathleen Hallahan, President

Little Italy Association
Meets the 1st Tuesday of every month at 8:30am
Our Lady of the Rosary Parish Hall, 1654 State Street
Contact:Chris Gomez, District Manager

Little Italy Residents Association
Meets quarterly on the 3rd Thursday of the month
Little Italy Firehouse Museum, 1572 Columbia St
Contact: Anne MacMillan Eichman, President, 619-241-2898

Cortez Hill Active Residents Group (CHARG)
Please see website to verify meeting dates, times & location
Contact:Joyce Summer, President