For important information about Organic Waste Recycling start dates and green bin information/presentations:  Read more in “Homes Serviced by the City”

In observance of Memorial Day, trash collection services will be delayed by one day.


San Diego

Accessibility Tools

  • Check if your spelling is correct, or try removing filters.
  • Remove quotes around phrases to match each word individually: "blue drop" will match less than blue drop.
  • You can require or exclude terms using + and -: big +blue drop will require a match on blue while big blue -drop will exclude results that contain drop.

Miramar Recycling Center

Miramar Recycling CenterLocation and Hours

The Miramar Recycling Center is located north of state Route 52 at 5165 Convoy St. in San Diego. Business hours are Monday through Saturday from 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

The Recycling Center is CLOSED on the following holidays: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.

The Miramar Recycling Center serves as a drop-off center for many recyclable materials. This includes large or bulky items that can be recycled but cannot go in either the black trash bin or the blue recycling bin.

Operated by Allan Co. Recycling, the center accepts four classes of recyclables:

  1. refunds for recycling: materials with refund and scrap value;
  2. "donation only" items;
  3. recycling fees for items banned from disposal in your trash or in the landfill (handling fee charged); and
  4. recycling fees for miscellaneous recyclables not accepted in the City's curbside recycling program (handling fees charged).

Refunds for Recycling

The Miramar Recycling Center pays a California Redemption Value (CRV) refund for all aluminum, plastic, glass and steel beverage containers for which a CRV deposit was charged. Scrap value is paid for some types of metals, newspaper and cardboard (call for pricing).

"Donation Only" Items

Some recyclables that do not have refund or scrap value are accepted for donation (no payment or fee charged to the customer). "Donation only" items include:

  • TVs, computer monitors and computer processing units(CPUs);
  • non-CRV glass bottles and jars (clear, blue, brown and green);
  • non CRV Icon of plasic symbol and Icon of plasic symbol narrow neck plastic containers;
  • non-CRV steel cans;
  • metals - ferrous (iron) metals like barbecues, wrought iron, etc.;
  • mixed paper; and
  • used residential cooking oil - maximum 30 quarts.

Recycling Fees

  1. The Miramar Recycling Center accepts (for a fee) the following items which are prohibited by local and California State law from trash disposal:
    • refrigerators, freezers, air conditioners and other appliances that contain chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs);
      Fees (all customers)

      $25.00 each

    • large household appliances (stoves, washers and dryers, hot water heaters, etc.);
      Fees (all customers)

      $12.00 each

  2. The following miscellaneous recyclable materials can be recycled for a fee:
    Fees (all customers)

    • tires (18" and under-no rims)

      $7.00 each;

    • toilets

      $6.00 each; and

    • small computer and household electronics (1 to 49 pounds, including printers, keyboards and mice)

      $0.25 per pound

For additional information on recycling other scrap metal such as brass, copper and aluminum, or to verify pricing and accepted items, call the Miramar Recycling Center at 858-268-8971.